My WomanTheory Story: Jessica Abrahams on Harriet Bradley, Diane Reay (and others)

By one of our co-conveners Jessica Abrahams

womantheory

harrietWhen I began to think about which female academic I would write this blog about I found myself stuck, unable to choose only one. This was frustrating yet comforting as I realised that I have been inspired and moulded by so many strong female theorists. I have never been one to stick to rules so have decided to be a rebel and write this about two women who personally and in their writing have supported and motivated me: Harriet Bradley and Diane Reay. I have chosen to start with Professor Harriet Bradley as this is where my academic journey began. I first came across Harriet’s work as an A Level sociology student learning about intersectionality. When I started my undergraduate in sociology at the University of Bristol I was star struck when Harriet gave a guest lecture on inequality.

View original post 1,100 more words

Leave a Reply

